Malaysia Public Holidays 2008

Below is a list of Malaysia Public Holidays for 2008, as of previously released by the Prime Minister department. The list is also inclusive of state and school holidays. 14 days have been gazetted as the Malaysian Public Holidays for 2008.

When a public holiday falls on the weekly rest day (Sunday or Friday), a replacement holiday will fall on the next day as a public holiday. Take note that some holidays are also subject to change and confirmation (e.g. Hari Raya Puasa and Deepavali). Government agencies are closed on Saturday and Sunday (except for Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah, which close on Friday and Saturday).

January 2008
1 Jan New Year
10 Jan Awal Muharram
20 Jan Sultan Kedah’s Birthday (Kedah only)
23 Jan Thaipusam
February 2008
1 Feb Federal Territory Day (Putrajaya, Kuala Lumpur and Labuan Only)
7 Feb Chinese New Year
8 Feb Chinese New Year (2nd day) – except Kelantan & Terengganu
March 2008
4 Mar Sultan Terengganu’s Installation (Terengganu only)
20 Mar Maulidur Rasul (Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday)
8-16 Mar School Holiday (1 week)
21 Mar Good Friday (Sabah & Sarawak only)
30 Mar Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday (Kelantan only)
April 2008
8 Apr Sultan of Johor’s Birthday (Johor only)
15 Apr Melaka Declaration as Historical City (Melaka only)
19 Apr Sultan of Perak’s Birthday (Perak only)
May 2008
1 May Labor Day
7 May Hol Day Pahang (Pahang only)
17 May Raja Perlis’ Birthday (Perlis only)
19 May Wesak Day
24-29 May School Holiday (1 week)
30 May Harvest Festival (Sabah & Labuan only)
31 May Harvest Festival (Sabah & Labuan only)
June 2008
1 Jun Gawai Festival (Sarawak only)
2 Jun Gawai Festival (Sarawak only) – replacement
7 Jun Agong’s Birthday
July 2008
9 Jul Hol Day Almarhum Sultan Johor (Johor only)
12 Jul Penang’s Yang Dipertua Birthday (Penang only)
19 July Negeri Sembilan’s Yang Dipertuan Besar Birthday (NS only)
20 Jul Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday (Terengganu only)
30 Jul Isra’ Mikraj – Kedah, Negeri Sembilan and Perlis only
August 2008
16-24 Aug School Holiday (9 days)
31 Aug National Day – Malaysia’s Independence
September 2008
1 Sept Awal Ramadan (Johor, Melaka & Kedah only)
13 Sept Sarawak’s Yang Dipertua Birthday (Sarawak only)
16 Sept Malaysia Day & Sabah’s Yang Dipertua Birthday (Sabah only)
17 Sept Nuzul Quran (Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor and Terengganu only
October 2008
1 Oct Hari Raya Puasa (1st day) – subject to change
2 Oct Hari Raya Puasa (2nd day) – subject to change
11 Oct Melaka’s Yang Dipertua Birthday (Melaka only)
24 Oct Sultan of Pahang’s Birthday (Pahang only)
27 Oct Deepavali – subject to change
November 2008
15-30 Nov School Holiday
December 2008
1-31 Dec School Holiday (contd from November)
8 Dec Hari Raya Haji
9 Dec Hari Raya Haji (2nd day) – Kelantan & Terengganu only
11 Dec Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday (Selangor only)
25 Dec Christmas
29 Dec Awal Muharram

You can also download the Public Holidays and a full calendar by clicking here. (Requires Acrobat Reader).

Leave a Reply